(Media release from the Georgia House of Representatives):

State Representative Jon Burns (R-Newington) was elected Monday as the 75th Speaker of the Georgia House of Representatives. Speaker Burns was elected by acclamation without opposition.

“I am honored to have the trust and confidence of my colleagues in the House to serve as their Speaker,” said Speaker Burns. “My vision for the House is straightforward – the House will continue to lead. It will continue to be independent while working with our colleagues in the Senate and the Governor. It will continue to champion policies which keep Georgia a great place to live, to work, and to raise a family.”

The Speaker serves as the presiding officer of the House of Representatives. He is responsible for determining the leadership and membership of House committees. While the House is in session, the Speaker is charged with assigning legislation to committees, calling legislation for debate, and enforcing the rules of the House.

Speaker Burns was first elected to the Georgia House of Representatives in 2004. He previously served as Chairman of the Special Rules Committee and the Game, Fish, and Parks Committee. Burns was elected by his colleagues as Majority Leader in 2015 and served in that position until his nomination as Speaker this past November.

Born and raised in Effingham County, Speaker Burns earned his bachelor’s degree in Political Science from Georgia Southern College. He holds a Juris Doctor degree from John Marshall Law School.

Speaker Burns and his wife, Dayle, live on the family farm in northern Effingham County. They have two grown sons, two lovely daughter-in-laws, and five beautiful grandchildren.

House Speaker Pro-Tempore Jan Jones (R-Milton) was also elected by her colleagues in the Georgia House of Representatives to continue her service as the House Speaker Pro-Tempore for the 2023-2024 legislative term.

Speaker Pro-Tempore Jones was first elected to her current position in 2010. Following the death of Speaker David Ralston in November 2022, Speaker Pro Tempore Jan Jones became the 74th Speaker of the House for the remainder of the 2021-2022 legislative term, making her the first female Speaker of the House in state history. Ahead of the 2023 legislative session, she was nominated by her Republican colleagues to resume her role as Speaker Pro-Tempore for the new term.

The Speaker Pro-Tempore of the House serves as the presiding officer in the absence of the Speaker of the House, which includes enforcing the rules of the House and calling matters before the House for debate.

Speaker Burns appointed a Committee on Assignments to determine committee assignments and leadership positions for the 2023-2024 legislative session. The following have been appointed to that committee:

  • Speaker Pro Tempore Jan Jones (R-Milton)
  • Majority Leader Chuck Efstration (R-Dacula)
  • Majority Whip James Burchett (R-Waycross)
  • Majority Caucus Chairman Bruce Williamson (R-Monroe)
  • Rep. Shaw Blackmon (R-Bonaire)
  • Rep. Katie Dempsey (R-Rome)
  • Rep. Matt Hatchett (R-Dublin)
  • Rep. Lynn Smith (R-Newnan)
  • Rep. Richard Smith (R-Columbus)